SEFCE Teaching Awards 2022

Nominations have now closed.  The awards will be presented at the SEFCE Symposium in the morning of 9 November 2022.  

Undergraduate teacher of the year award

This award is open to undergraduate Edinburgh medical students to nominate the clinical teacher they wish to see recognised for their personal attributes, success and dedication to medical education. Nominees can be from any background and of any grade within their discipline.  They may have a specific role (such as Undergraduate Supervisor, Clinical Tutor Associate, Professional Mentor or Clinical Teaching Fellow) or they may have supported you in clinical placements, through study or exam preparation, pastoral support or any other way that has supported or influenced your undergraduate experience.

Postgraduate teacher of the year award

This award is open to anyone to nominate someone involved in the support, development and education of doctors in training. These clinical teachers might have a specific role “such as Training Programme Director, Clinical Supervisor, Educational Supervisor) or may be someone who has been influential in the teaching, training, support and development of doctors in training in the SEFCE region.

The Oustanding Contribution to Teaching Award

This is a new award and is open to anyone to nominate an individual or team within Edinburgh Medical School or the SEFCE region who has demonstrated dedication in the field of medical education beyond the realms of what would normally be expected.

Please use this link: and feel free to pass it on to your fellow students and colleagues.

Nominations will be reviewed by staff with significant roles in teaching and supporting undergraduate students and doctors in training. Decisions will be based not only on the number of nominations made for each candidate but also on the reasons that you give for their nomination so it is really important to us that you express your reasons as clearly as possible. Any queries about this process please get in touch with us at 


Outstanding Contribution to Teaching Andrew Storey
  Callum Mutch
  Nathan Oliver
  Chandrasekaran Kaliaperumal
  Clinical Skills team
  David Hewitt
  Edward Russell-Smith
  Neill Storrar 
  Rowan Harrason
  Wendy Morley
  Alex Stirzaker
Postgraduate Teacher Peter Wilson
  Naomi Gadsby
  Sarah Goodbrand
  Surabhi Taori
  Ben Slater
Undergradaute Teacher Frank Venter
  Hamish Elliott
  Andrew Storey
  Chandrasekaran Kaliaperumal
  Edward Russell-Smith
  Ingrid Hoeritzauer
  Kathryn twentyman 
  Robert Thompson
  Scott McNeill
  Agata Dunsmore